The Practice of Online Activism: Amnesty International’s #Intersex Movement

My video is a reflection of online activism. My argument in the video is that online activism is beneficial when activists are creating awareness campaigns about social issues, even though the digital sphere also has limitations for activists. In the video, I analyse Amnesty International’s recent Intersex movement to study my argument. The analysis consists of an interpretation of Amnesty International’s different online strategies. On their website, I analyse the framing of the intersex rights issue, and the potentials and limitations their use of online forums have in the way that they frame their campaign. On Twitter, I analyse the potentials and limitations that the use of hashtags has on their communication of intersex rights.

In my analysis, I draw on five different scholarly sources from professors of sociology, journalism and public relations. I apply their theories on my analysis to interpret the potentials and limitations in the Intersex movement’s use of online activism. When drawing on these sources in the video, my strategy is to explain their theory verbally as I analyse the content. When I apply a scholarly source, I present the professor in my talk and text reference the source on the video screen. My strategy is to engage the theory in my analysis when incorporating the theory with my argument and visual footage.

IMG_3832
Drawing by Anne Bro, May 2017

In the creation of the video, my strategy is to construct the video as a visual analysis of my argument. To structure this strategy, I use animations on Prezi to visualise the progress of the analysis. The Prezi links the different analysis parts together to create a coherent analysis. The analysis parts consist of images, drawings, keywords and a Prezi presentation, and are made to underline and explain my argument. In the introduction and conclusion, my strategy is to let me present and finish the argument to underline that the video is an analysis by me.

Skærmbillede 2017-05-26 kl. 02.27.26 PM
Screenshot of ‘Online Activism’ by Anne Bro at Prezi, May 2017

I edited the video in iMovie, where I inserted titles and crossings from the program. In the video, I created most of the content myself. I recorded the video of the lit candle, of me talking, of the website drawing and of the hashtag post-its. The media being used in the videos were written and drawn by me to make the analysis my own and to utilise the visual element in the video in creating an argument. I made the Prezi animation by editing an already existing platform in Prezi. I added animations from Prezi and photographs taken by myself. In addition to creating my own content, I used Creative Commons to search for content made with Creative Commons licences. I found the music on Soundcloud and the images on Flickr through Creative Commons searching. I downloaded the music and images with the Creative Commons Attribution licence (CC BY) that allows me to do anything with the work, and use it for any purpose as long as I attribute the creator. I attribute the creator in the end of the video, in the YouTube description and at the in of this blog.

Skærmbillede 2017-05-26 kl. 02.02.19 PM
Screenshot of video by Anne Bro at iMovie, May 2017

When creating this video, I met some challenges. I had multiple ideas in my head, but as this was my fist video making experience, it was difficult to execute my ideas. It was also my first experience with a longer movie in iMovie. Polishing and editing were a time consuming challenge, when trying to make it coherent and consistent. These challenges taught me the importance of organising, planning beforehand and setting aside a lot of time. I learned how keeping it simple is valuable in both recording and editing. Most importantly, I experienced how all the different elements in a video can enhance the message of an academic argument.

(614 words)

Video embedded from my Anne Bro YouTube channel

My broader ALC203-related online activity

My ALC203-related activity online has consisted of regularly tweets. The tweets have been related to readings and discussions within the unit, where I have reflected on digital media, linked to articles and concepts, and participated in the Tiffit Challenges. On Twitter, I have been engaging in discussions with my peers to reflect upon online ideas together. Additional to my Twitter activity, I have weekly been blogging on WordPress about different topics from the ALC203 unit. To demonstrate my online activity, I can refer to the Tiffit Tally and my accomplishment of the Golden Tiffit.

(99 words)

References

Amnesty International 2017, First, Do No Harm: ensuring the rights of children born intersex, Amnesty International, retrieved 14 May 2017, <https://www.amnesty.org/en/latest/campaigns/2017/05/intersex-rights/?utm_source=TWITTER-IS&utm_medium=social&utm_content=893653890&utm_campaign=Other_issue>.

Benford, RD & Snow, DA 2000, ‘Framing Processes and Social Movements: An overview and Assessment’, Annual Review of Sociology, vol. 26, pp. 611-639.

Carty, V 2015, Social movements and new technology, Westview, New York City, pp. 1-16.

Wald, J 2016, ‘Riding the wave: How he ALS Ice Bucket Challenge used storytelling and user-general content to embrace slactivism’, in Hutchins, A & Tindall, N (eds.), Public relations and participatory culture: fandom, social media and community engagement, Routledge, New York City, pp. 169-170.

Hopke, J 2015, ‘Hashtagging politics: Transnational anti-fracking movement Twitter practices’, Social Media + Society, July-December, pp. 1-12.

Hopke, J & Simis, M 2015, ‘Discourse over a contested technology on Twitter: A case study in hydraulic fracturing’, Public Understanding of Science, October 4, pp. 1-15.

Credits

Music:

Alex Nekita – Happy ukelele music by alexnekita (CC BY 3.0).

Animation:

Prezi ‘Online Activism’ by Anne Bro, May 2017.

Images:

Digital Graphics by Steve Johnson (CC BY 2.0).

megaphone by mckinney75402 (CC BY 2.0).

Photographs by Anne Bro, May 2017.

Sapphic Victory by David Goehring (CC BY 2.0).

Rainbow by maxime raynal (CC BY 2.0).

Video:

Video material by Anne Bro, May 2017.

Video edited with iMovie.

Leave a Reply

